Advice on a torque converter?

Seedy Wags

Reaction score
Hello ladies and gentlemen,
I am interested in the forums input regarding purchase and install of a torque converter to go between my 440 dual quad and the 727 transmission.
Being a newbie, my specific question is regarding what stall speed to purchase, where to purchase and a reasonable ballpark $.
I have reasonable backyard mechanical skill. This is going into my 65 Fury III as a potential “ take it to the strip when I have to get my Yaya‘s out “ maybe some bracket racing fun and finally maybe zipping around the county after midnight! I had the engine freshened up a few years ago but that is really all I know about it. I’m not sure what cam is in it. Thank you again for your input yes I anxiously await your responses!

I have a Hughes Racing Converter 2435 its a 3500 stall speed. used it for less than 100 miles
It was too loose for my car. Went back to Hemi Street Converter. I was never gonna race my car anyway.
Incase you want one locally

Your gear ratio will be a factor here. Here's a chart from TCI
upload_2020-6-1_10-46-6.png

I have a Hughes Racing Converter 2435 its a 3500 stall speed. used it for less than 100 miles
It was too loose for my car. Went back to Hemi Street Converter. I was never gonna race my car anyway.
Incase you want one locally
Where are you located?? What do you mean by “ too loose? I am in Western NY. I like your wagon too!!

Had to get the RPM's up near the stall range to get the car moving, thats what I didnt understand when I grabbed it. Which is fine if your racing and blasting around but I drive my wagon almost everyday and It wasnt working for me.
Im on LI in Nassau county