ID my Carb, please (for a rebuild kit)

Ghostultramarine

Reaction score
Time to rebuild my carb. Problem, I am not sure the model/make so I can order the proper kit.

I will post some pictures of it. (Also, if you notice anything off - springs, clips, wires, etc in the wrong place, please let me know - I am still learning.)

Thank you, in advance!

E75C4A1A-DBBB-430F-AFF1-C39D71818DD3.jpeg

966B8491-D00B-4CA7-8F92-57FF5782FF88.jpeg

25B2EE92-67C2-40E9-8945-32154DB66907.jpeg

33679412-3C26-448D-9988-460718B555D1.jpeg

9B80DAF5-F35A-4716-8A33-E95E5D4AC333.jpeg

Carter BBD with the 1.56" throttle bores, otherwise termed "BBD 1.5". There were also BBDs for 318s, which had a smaller and more curved front section (float bowl area) with 1.44" throttle bores.

Do NOT over-torque the air cleaner wing nut!!! When you take it apart, check the air horn gasket on the throttle bore side of the casting for depression (i.e., sealing) evidence. When putting it back together, start with the center screws and work outward in a circular fashion. Once done, do it again.

If the air cleaner wing nut is tightened too much, over time, it will pull upward on the air cleaner stud and warp the housing upward, which can cause issues. Snug only.

Enjoy!
CBODY67

Is it the C in the circle that identifies it as a Carter?

Also, how does it identify as a 4421s? It only has “6-1790” cast on it?

Well... No. First I would have to search for Carter and that number on the carb does not tell me if it is stock or off something else nor if it’s the model number.

As for trusting what is posted online I see enough contradictions and corrections and back and forth on here, alone, to know even those knowledgeable disagree. My factory service manual does not get overly specific due to potential number of different carbs for 1968...