My 68 Polara convertible story

bigbadsubaru

Reaction score
I will have to dig out pictures (I'm at work and all my pics are on my home computer) but I suppose I should introduce myself and my beast :p

First of about me, I'm Andrew, 33, married, no kids, currently live in Vancouver, Washington (Just across the river from Portland, Oregon, and I'm a validation engineer at Intel

In 2005 while I was at Wyotech I needed to find a project car. Found a 66 Newport convertible for sale, but the guy wanted way too much for it, and didn't have the title. After looking at a 67 Suburban and a couple of Camaros I decided I wanted a convertible land yacht, so I put the feelers out on Craigslist. Guy in Denver emailed me and said he had one, $750 and it was mine, so that weekend I rented a U-Haul trailer and drove from Laramie to Denver to pick it up.. The car BARELY fit on the trailer, and since we couldn't get it to run getting it on the trailer was interesting to say the least! Got it home, cleaned the leaves and junk out of it, hunted down a battery, poured gas down the carb and cranked it over with a screwdriver on the starter relay and it fired up! Several months later I towed it to school and rebuilt the engine, and in the following class I did most of the body work, and fabricated a new lower quarter panel and part of the trunk floor that had rusted away (Only rust on the whole car)