SHE’S ALIVE!! The 68 RUNS

Isaiah Estrada

FCBO Gold Member
Reaction score
Okay, so my title may be a “bit” misleading. We DID get the New Yorker running today, however we didn’t proceed with the break in procedure.

This is because for 1, our battery happens to be absolute junk. Starter was cranking real slow, then when it fired it’d start for a second then immediately quit. I didn’t crank on it too much before swapping batteries out.

Here is what happened after!!

That engine lit off IMMEDIATELY! However, to me it sounds like it’s running a bit rough. I have no knowledge on engine diagnostics while it’s running. We ran it for about 3 minutes at 2,000 but it was smoking like crazy. I’m not sure if my timing is too advanced?

I’m playing it safe and I’m just going to wait till our friend who is the engine wizard can come and walk us through. He’d be checking EVERYTHING. I know it’s not ideal for the camshaft but it’s a bone stock build, and when I did run it I ran it at high RPM. Well, I guess I’ll see if I messed anything up once we truly do the break in!

I’m amazed though, how quickly it lit off with a charged battery. Feeling so proud of this car!

Get some exhaust pipe on there for a few feet anyhow...

Timing sounds potentially advanced a tad (the jerky cranking is tell-tale), but put a light on it to be sure - leave the dizzy loose to adjust as you go.

Get some exhaust pipe on there for a few feet anyhow...

Timing sounds potentially advanced a tad (the jerky cranking is tell-tale), but put a light on it to be sure - leave the dizzy loose to adjust as you go.

Thanks! We are going to definitely add some exhaust pipe! We were getting smoked out pretty bad lol.