Shifting a 5 and 4 tranny....

thrashingcows

Reaction score
Got to watching a bunch of twin and triple stick shifting vids on youtube this morning. Amazing shifting and driving by these guys! I was confused as to exactly what shifters were doing what, in each gear box...until I came across this vid.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xCQj68cdb88

Man I sure feel spoiled, and a little ashamed, with the trannies we commercial truckers have today. ;) :) Sure they are nice, but really compared with the set-ups from yesteryear...they are like shifting a fully synchronized 5 speed in a car.

There will be two guys here who actually worked with that Setup I guess.

I wouldnt know where to start with a triple stick. Never even saw one with my own eyes.
Double stick? In the early seventies.Yes. I was a stupid rookie so it didn't know it was supposed to be hard.
Come the mid-seventies it was all various models of RoadRangers.
Come the new millennium, they kept trying to throw Allison's at me but I absolutely refused.

Posted via Topify on Android

Last edited:
So Stan are those guys skipping gears because I have never seen anyone hit every gear they seem like they are skipping because empty or bobtail, I know what to skip in my 15 SPD when empty.
I would like to try one once.

I wouldnt know where to start with a triple stick. Never even saw one with my own eyes.
Double stick? In the early seventies.Yes. I was a stupid rookie so it didn't know it was supposed to be hard.
Come the mid-seventies it was all various models of RoadRangers.
Come the new millennium, they kept trying to throw Allison's at me but I absolutely refused.

We have a freight grinder with a DD15 in front, and an Allison behind it. When we got it they had these meeting to try to convince us that this is the best thing since sliced bread. The company management was eating up everything the salesmen where claiming about fuel economy etc.