Wiring a headlight relay

Electrical & Ignition

  1. Biggredd2069

    Biggredd2069 Active Member

    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2018
    Location:
    Parker, CO
    Aren't those just the holes for mounting the relays?

    If they are thats funny. No instructions so I was assuming it was just a heavy duty connection point. I'm gonna get a pic today of the full thing laid out better.
     
  2. 67Monaco

    67Monaco Old Man with a Hat

    Messages:
    5,440
    Likes Received:
    2514
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Location:
    Punta Gorda FL

    Oh. I was going by the diagram and saw the single fused power feed.
     
  3. dart4forte

    dart4forte Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    224
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Location:
    Mesa AZ
    Plug N Play is the way to go. Crackedback sells a real sanitary setup based on your car in two and four headlights. He’s over on the FABO.
     
  4. BLUPORT

    BLUPORT Carpe Diem Cras FCBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    1,410
    Likes Received:
    1099
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Location:
    Eastern NC
  5. tbm3fan

    tbm3fan Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,866
    Likes Received:
    1463
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Location:
    Pleasant Hill, CA
    My relays are installed in front of the radiator support. My harness is self made. No existing wires, of the car, were cut. The trigger for the relays comes from an 18ga wire with a male spade for the original headlight socket ( I replaced mine with better sockets), and then female spade for #86 on the relay. I can remove the new sockets, plug the original sockets back in and I am ready to go back in OEM condition if I want.
     
  6. Biggredd2069

    Biggredd2069 Active Member

    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2018
    Location:
    Parker, CO
    ok. I got it figured out. There were no instructions in the box. It was plug and play. What confused me is you unplug 4 headlights but only need to plug one back in to the original wiring. I was assuming 4, or at least (one low beam, one high). you just plug one headlight into the new harness. I just assumed the relays plugged in to the wiring somewhere. lol, clearly wrong. My windshield fluid reservoir is dry rotted so I took it out and have a nook in there where I put the relays. All is good. Thanks for your time everyone.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  7. mr. fix it

    mr. fix it Old Man with a Hat

    Messages:
    6,631
    Likes Received:
    4270
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Location:
    Welland, ON
    happy it worked out.
    Thanks for the update.:thumbsup:
     
  8. Gerald Morris

    Gerald Morris Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Location:
    Tucson
    Glad to see you got things working. I kept my old harness, and just plugged my new home rolled harness into the driver side low beam socket. Have had nothing but excellent service from my setup since then too. People scare themselves of electrical issues too much. Be mindful of safety, follow basic rules, check safety again, and you will be fine.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. saylor

    saylor Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,607
    Likes Received:
    984
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Location:
    GARLAND TEXAS BABY !!!
    if a guy took a diode and put it in between relays #86 trigger pins

    chain-relays-diode.JPG thusly

    when i flip on low beams relay its ONLY low beam relay activated
    AND
    when i flip on hi beams relay it would be BOTH relays actiavted

    do i mucho savvee?

    trying not to fry -

    - saylor

    *i get you shouldnt run both filaments lo/hi in the same bulb. i was thinking about running 4 hi beams / 4 singles vs. a combo hi/lo bulb. anyone ?
     
  10. Big_John

    Big_John Illegitimi non carborundum FCBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    12,004
    Likes Received:
    7027
    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Location:
    Marcellus, NY
    That should work, but I'm not sure if that's the best way to light up the road or not. I'd be more tempted to use a hi/lo combo bulb and then wire a switch along with the relay. I think I've seen references to doing that, with possibly a shorter bulb life, but the switch lets you choose when and if you want it.
     
  11. saylor

    saylor Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,607
    Likes Received:
    984
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Location:
    GARLAND TEXAS BABY !!!
    thanks Mr Big John and Merry Christmas!

    i actually ramped up the question and sent email out to slantsixdaniel stern lighting.

    assuming i skip the 'hi' side of the combo lamp and install this diode - im seeing what Dr. Stern says if im gonna die or not.

    thanks for the electricals confirmation though. im self taught 300-n-1 electronics kit 1974 style so i appreciate the look-over
     
  12. Wildaugust

    Wildaugust Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    633
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Politically Correct Hell
    The diode idea should work for that. If you run 4 hi-beam bulbs instead of the hi/lo beam bulbs in the outer pair, oncoming drivers are not going to like you. It will also be illegal, which in itself may not be a problem, unless your lights happen to piss off an oncoming cop. I would do what Big John suggested and use a switch wired in series with the diode.
     
  13. Gerald Morris

    Gerald Morris Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Location:
    Tucson
    The diode will do as you like with the relays. I had one of those 300-n-1 kits from Radio Shark myself! Got it for Christmas that year. I recall making the telephone pickup circuit Christmas Day and then calling my aunt and rapping w her through the output speaker, which acted as a dynamic microphone also, agitating the inductive pickup enough to induce current in the old telephone receiver. I ENJOY 1970s state of the art electronics! Remember the INTEGRATED CIRCUIT in that kit?! It had what, 9 discrete components in it?

    Felix Natalis Christos