Wrong size air filter O_O

jct

Reaction score
Apparently I should be using a 3.5" air filter instead of a 2¾" air filter that I have been using for the past 6 years @_@

Interesting. When we purchased our '68 300 it also had the wrong air filter. There was about a 1/2" gap between the element and the housing. Our car has the 440 TNT filter housing with the twin snorkels.

Interesting. When we purchased our '68 300 it also had the wrong air filter. There was about a 1/2" gap between the element and the housing. Our car has the 440 TNT filter housing with the twin snorkels.
Which is the same filter as the 2bbl 383 takes.

Fram CA127 is for the snorkeled air cleaners common to the 63-68 Chrysler B/RB V-8s, going all the way to 1978.

Fram CA305 is for the un-snorkeled air cleaners during similar model years and later years B/RB V-8s with snorkeled air cleaners. "Unsnorkeled" as in 1968 Road Runner air cleaners or similar ones. This is the shorter filter element and probably what you had in there.

Just because no auto supply might not have one does NOT mean they are completely unavailable, although their model year coverage is certainly not "late model" by normal standards. Certainly by other brands other than Fram, too, as possibly in Purolator or Wix/NAPA? Find somebody who can get you one or order online (as in Rock Auto or similar). Being in/near Indy, there should be some of the larger auto supply distribution centers close by. There used to be a big NAPA store on the west loop, "in the county" rather than "the city", as I recall from staying out there when attending Mopar Nats when it was at Brownsburg, but that was over 20 years ago. How time FLIES!

AND . . . do not over-torque the wingnut!!! Just snug it down.

CBODY67

Last edited: