1968 New Yorker 440 motor questions

Pretty much, although if your car was born with the HP stamp it's a nice thing to retain.

Pretty much, although if your car was born with the HP stamp it's a nice thing to retain.

Hmmm :icon_scratch: Born ? or Created ??

hatchoefner_560.jpg

:eek:ccasion14:

I did say born, I don't have one car that has one that's not supposed to and two of them retain there originals.

Well.. thank you for clearing it up. Like I said in first post..I am new to Mopar stuff... so i had no idea about HP vs Non HP. Now I know.

was the car originally an HP 440? look at the fifth digit.K for non HP, and L for HP. If yours is L, not having the HP engine will show the engine Isn't original. all 440 L VIN coded code cars were stamped HP. On the fender tag look at the three digit code on the bottom line next to the six digit number on the right ending the line., where it will tell you the estimated build date. The first digit 1 would be for Jan, 9 is sept, A for October,etc. The last two digits are the day of the month. On engines with no VIN the date on the Boss should be before the build date, but usually not more than 10 days. I hope this helps you, also look at the transmission you are putting in it. Chrysler made three different ones for the BB/RB The 383 2bbl will hold up, but if anyone experienced looks at it, they will know if it is correct transmission right away. I have the book with all the numbers, if you want to post yours I would be happy to look it up for you. The HP version was best, with eight pinions, the 383 2bbl had only six.

Last edited:
Thanks polara66hardtop. I will check tonight if 5 digit is L or K. As for the tranny.. it is off to be rebuilt. However, the guy who is doing it seems to have gotten real busy and is not checking his text messages much. I may have to find another transmission. But I have time... 20 inches of snow on ground and -15 degree temps.. is slowing things down a bit.