'66 Imperial Lower Control Arm Bushing

Reaction score
Instead of getting caught in the facebook feed I thought I would post some pictures from my ongoing project; Changing the lower control arm bushings in my incomparable Imperial.
Maybe someone preparing for the same job can benefit from it. Helpful tips from "old men with hats" (and others) will be much appreciated! I have never done this before.

Counted the number of turn before the bolt in the rear anchor came out (unloading the torsion bar). Seems like et was bottoming out in the "cover" (?):

IMG_9537.jpg IMG_9540.jpg IMG_9548.jpg

I took this whole assembly out rearwards:
IMG_9549.jpg

The car is full of red sand. I assume this is how the soil looks in Arizona and/or California? It is bonded to large parts of the underside of the car with presumably leaked out and dried up power steering fluid:
(this is the attachment point for the rear anchor)
IMG_9551.jpg

Rear anchor was still full of grease:
IMG_9553.jpg

I made my own very crude version of the ball joint press tool from a "nut buster" (for the strong fine thread with long engagement length), a socket and inner races from bearings:

IMG_9560.jpg

The rubber in the old bushing was almost gone:

IMG_9565.jpg IMG_9568.jpg

Instead of welding in a washer as I have seen youtubers do to get the outer sleeve of the bushing out, I threaded in a M42 tap and pressed on that. Of course this only makes sense if one has access to an appropriate tap. The inner diameter of the sleeve is 1.57".

IMG_9572.jpg

Last edited:
I have done the tap method many times, works great, until a friend wants to do his bushings and breaks the tap. Auuugghhh. Reminds me, I need to source a tap.

I have done the tap method many times, works great, until a friend wants to do his bushings and breaks the tap. Auuugghhh. Reminds me, I need to source a tap.