Gas bubbling out of fuel tank. Why 2 vents? Can I cap one?

Thanks Trace! Oh well, I have an idea but I'm too embarrassed to tell. I'll post it if it works. It doesn't involve any cutting or plugging up vent lines. Easy on, easy off. I think the vent line piping inside the tank must be rotted or somehow got a hole near the exit allowing it to puke. Can't fix that. I really don't want to spend hundreds of dollars for a new tank, so now I have to mickey mouse the vent and hope it works.

I just remembered the trunk vent line was rotted and fuel was puking into the trunk, so 10 years ago, I used that line and installed a return line to a fuel vapor filter (see pic). Sorry, I forgot all about it. It cured my vapor lock, plus car runs overall better. However, tank was puking from both vent lines before I made this change. Sorry for the confusion.
Untitled.jpg

Last edited:
Without that vent(s) being capped or connected to anything, it's going to boil out, especially above half a tank, because that's when the fuel hits the vent.

If you're not going to connect them to the venting canister, you can cap them off with rubber nipples, and use a vented cap. Been running my California 4-vent tank this way now for over 10 years. On a really hot day, it is necessary to open the cap and let it vent after a drive.

Thanks Snotty! I bought a vented cap (delivery Friday) and will try it out. I installed my fix a couple days ago. Its been around 90F in Cleveland and so far its working great, but will it last? The filter stops the spitting of fuel while air has plenty of room to escape. (I drilled a couple small holes thru center top of filter inside the housing just in case filter clogs up). So far I noticed it fills up only 1/6 then drains back into tank within a few minutes. Its secured by a couple of clamps so it won't move around.

I know it looks cartoonish, but hey, it works. Anyone see any dangers or problems doing this? I'm not an auto engineer so thanks for all the help guys!