Turn Signal Repair

SPF Required

FCBO Gold Member
Reaction score
I got a repop turn signal canceling cam for my ‘68 300 with tilt/telescope steering column (thank you @marty mopar ).

I have never pulled a steering wheel, let alone worked on the inside of the column. I studied lots of YouTube videos, bought a steering wheel puller/compression tool, and got the courage to dig into the project today.

Made my way through all of the removal and made it to the turn signal switch. Once there, I couldn’t initially see anything wrong with the original cam. Upon closer inspection, I could see a little crack near the base of the little lob that holds the left turn signal on (which is why it wouldn’t hold for my left turns).
65994E38-BF19-45CE-898F-55435C365026.jpeg

3875F4B3-1FDA-43DD-852A-E1F6AF16125F.jpeg

At that point, I could not figure out how to remove the existing canceling cam (lack of confidence) so I did the next logical thing, went and got some JB Plastic weld for plastic. Let it cure, and seems to be doing the trick…. For now!
7F3F70B2-1202-449A-A19C-F6A613B38637.jpeg

I like the how the re-enforced corner worked out. The column can be intimidating for sure.

One of the reasons I fell short of pulling out the entire turn signal switch was I could not remove the TS lever. I didn’t see any pins so I assumed it would unscrew, but it wouldn’t budge. Anyone have any tips on how to get the lever off of this switch (just in case my JB Weld repair doesn’t hold).

Also…. When comparing the new cam to the one installed, I noticed the purple wire is deleted from the new cam. Anyone know what that purple wire is for, and if it is needed IF I eventually install the new cam?

Thank you!
994D40C3-CC89-4398-912A-B2A03EB35FE3.jpeg

I didn’t see any pins so I assumed it would unscrew, but it wouldn’t budge. Anyone have any tips on how to get the lever off of this switch (just in case my JB Weld repair doesn’t hold).