1973 400 questions

prd2bdf

Reaction score
So Loretta, my 73 Newport, is stored for the winter and of course that got me to thinking, it may be a good time to start getting stuff.

we all know these cars aren’t going to be 1/4 mile kings but I was wondering if any of you have done basic bolt ons to increase the power. I am planning on getting a new aluminum radiator since the original one is starting to leak a bit, also planning on converting it to dual exhaust with a h-pipe.

I have no knowledge of the 400 blocks, I’ve googled and it just keep giving me results for either the 383 or the 440. Are they the same?

400 is just a bored out 383. 383 has 4.25" bore...400 has a 4.34" bore. Same stroke at 3.375. 400 is the favorite block these days for stroker kits due to large bore size. You can do some pretty decent mods to the 400 but you're limited by low compression pistons.

400 is just a bored out 383. 383 has 4.25" bore...400 has a 4.34" bore. Same stroke at 3.375. 400 is the favorite block these days for stroker kits due to large bore size. You can do some pretty decent mods to the 400 but you're limited by low compression pistons.

that’s okay. I’m looking mostly for things I can easily bolt on or remove to help unlock any power. I would rather leave the pistons and all the spinning whirly parts alone.