Can’t get an alternator to put out a charge

Electrical & Ignition

  1. FURYGT

    FURYGT Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,438
    Likes Received:
    1078
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Location:
    Lincolnton, NC
    Saylor, Keep in mind that the VR that you have is not designed to handle 100 amp alternators and neither is any of the factory wiring.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. traintech55

    traintech55 Senior Member FCBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    3,431
    Likes Received:
    1634
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2015
    Location:
    Hammond, IN.
    This way you will get the correct belt geometry, then you can figure out your charging system. The bracket change over shouldn't take more than a couple of hours.
     
  3. saylor

    saylor Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,671
    Likes Received:
    1011
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Location:
    GARLAND TEXAS BABY !!!
    • Like Like x 1
  4. 65sporty

    65sporty Old Man with a Hat

    Messages:
    7,023
    Likes Received:
    1676
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Marlette,Mi
    I have done this myself without the kit, but I see they say their regulator is heavy duty. I bought a regulator, connector pigtail and wired it all up. The previous owner already installed a alt with 2 field terminals so I just wired up the new regulator and trashed the bad mechanical one.
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2019
  5. saylor

    saylor Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,671
    Likes Received:
    1011
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Location:
    GARLAND TEXAS BABY !!!
    just putting this here b/c i never heard of doing this test and i like it:

    You should also thoroughly clean the battery posts and the clamps, and examine where the cables meet the clamps for corrosion under the insulation. When you reinstall the cables to the battery, turn on the headlights and measure voltage between the positive post and positive clamp, and between the negative post and negative clamp. With engine off and headlights on, you should not get more than 0.1 volts. If you do, you have a poor connection. Also with engine off and headlights on, measure voltage between the engine block and the negative post, should not be more than 0.1 volts. If it is, you have either a bad ground cable or connection.
     
    • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. Gerald Morris

    Gerald Morris Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    201
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Location:
    Tucson
    This is the source I would recommend for heavy duty VRs. (and if I were to upgrade either of those squarebacks I've got, for stator and diodes.) Glad to see you found a satisfactory alternator. Scale up the wiring for the current and you'll be all set, for sure.
     
  7. saylor

    saylor Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,671
    Likes Received:
    1011
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Location:
    GARLAND TEXAS BABY !!!
    original and dl7552 alternator pivot point mount spacing is different. will get measurements soon i had to stop and do chores :p

    20191220_194742.jpg
     
  8. Gerald Morris

    Gerald Morris Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    201
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Location:
    Tucson
    No surprise there. IDKY Vatozone listed it as for Chevy's when I browsed it earlier, but w all the cookies in my cache, such oddities occur. It looked wrong for a 1966 engine and brackets though, for sure. I pray you don't have to sweat getting it mounted too much. DO post us as to how this works out for you. I'm ALWAYS looking for cost effective solutions.
     
  9. saylor

    saylor Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,671
    Likes Received:
    1011
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Location:
    GARLAND TEXAS BABY !!!
    ya its off a 89 fifth ave or something
     
  10. rags

    rags Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    387
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Location:
    greater norwich metropolitan area
    i ve seen voltage drops that will light a test light.
     
  11. saylor

    saylor Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,671
    Likes Received:
    1011
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Location:
    GARLAND TEXAS BABY !!!
    so i havent tried the 5th ave alternator yet, i need to get my facilities guy to grind up that ear for me.

    anyways i attacked this issue today from another angle. i decided to try to get the ALT lined back up with its original crankshaft pulley positions #3/#4. currently i had it sharing pulley position #2 with the P/S pump, which should be by itself. and the #2 crankshaft pulley is smaller than #1/#3/#4...
    20191223_102625.jpg here you can see my stand-offs at the ALT bracket to move the ALT forward 1 belt/pulley position. this moved me from crankshaft pulley #3/#4 up to #2/#3.
     
  12. saylor

    saylor Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,671
    Likes Received:
    1011
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Location:
    GARLAND TEXAS BABY !!!
    so i undid that and put it back flush to the block.

    then i took a spare A/C pulley and made a bracket out of 3/16" steel, and shimmed it up where the P/S pump mounts
    20191223_153024.jpg
    this allowed me to put the P/S belt and W/P belts back to the stock configuration.
     
  13. saylor

    saylor Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,671
    Likes Received:
    1011
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Location:
    GARLAND TEXAS BABY !!!
    it took me a couple of trys to get the lines lined up, but 2 washers and a remount of the pulley later i'm real close.
    20191223_153035.jpg

    the clearances are no joke. when this pulley fails ill cut a new bracket that fits better, i got some ideas while fixing this one up.
    20191223_153106.jpg
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. saylor

    saylor Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,671
    Likes Received:
    1011
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Location:
    GARLAND TEXAS BABY !!!
    so, at idle, in gear, both fans running, the bass HITTIN hard, headlights on, im at 12.0 on a multimeter at the BATT posts. its at the very very very edge of nope.

    but before this change, it was a straight nope without the headlights on it just couldnt do it. so im THIS close to having enough power at idle.

    if i turn off the headlights it pops up to 12.2-4 and holds good at idle in gear. i have not rewired my lights yet, as i dont drive this car at night. but thats probably in my future. but i think it can sit at a stoplight now. ill test tomorrow.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. 78Brougham

    78Brougham Deplorable FCBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    11,848
    Likes Received:
    8329
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Location:
    Wellsboro, PA
    Sorry.... but you still have issues... just sayin'
     
  16. 65sporty

    65sporty Old Man with a Hat

    Messages:
    7,023
    Likes Received:
    1676
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Marlette,Mi
    I don't think he has put the 100+ amp alternator on it yet.
     
  17. 78Brougham

    78Brougham Deplorable FCBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    11,848
    Likes Received:
    8329
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Location:
    Wellsboro, PA
    The pics looked like it was... Maybe I'm wrong. Been wrong before and will be again I'm sure.
     
  18. saylor

    saylor Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,671
    Likes Received:
    1011
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Location:
    GARLAND TEXAS BABY !!!
    yup this is the stock roundback 60a ALT or whatever it is dl7001 reman , not the 50a/120a ALT from the 5th ave dl7552 reman.

    im studying up on doing the headlight relays now/next to offload that draw..