1. Davea Lux

    Davea Lux Old Man with a Hat FCBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    5,286
    Likes Received:
    1378
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Location:
    Cornelius Or
    They will sometimes do that if the is a bad ground to the cluster, try the test again, if the car has an idiot light for the oil pressure, grounding that lead will cause the idiot light to come on and supply a ground to the cluster.

    Dave
     
  2. Shorty65

    Shorty65 New Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    Location:
    Dry ridge ky
    Ok tested the wire again and no oil came on but gauge started to slowly move. And part looks dead on the one I ordered. Here’s a pic of the engine I have the 383 v8. I looked where your pic says it is and didn’t see anything. And I traced the wire according to the service diagram and pretty sure it’s right. But like I said this is my first Plymouth and old car so I could always be incorrect

    6FF0CAA6-1622-4F49-8D17-746478F32482.jpeg
     
  3. Davea Lux

    Davea Lux Old Man with a Hat FCBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    5,286
    Likes Received:
    1378
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Location:
    Cornelius Or
    BB and RB mopars have the oil sender at the rear of the engine in the oil galley. The heat sensor is on the front usually on the water pump housing.

    Dave

    Edited to correct terminology.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2018
  4. Polara_500

    Polara_500 Senior Member FCBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,497
    Likes Received:
    1048
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Location:
    MinnieSnowta
     
  5. Davea Lux

    Davea Lux Old Man with a Hat FCBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    5,286
    Likes Received:
    1378
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Location:
    Cornelius Or
    Brain fart, I fixed it.

    Dave
     
  6. Shorty65

    Shorty65 New Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    Location:
    Dry ridge ky
    Well I found the sending unit for temp. Literally bolted right under the ac compressor I’m going to try and clean the wire and unit connector and see if that works really don’t want to remove the compressor. Hoping changing this horrible connector which failed the ground test will work.

    7225FC4E-91A8-46CD-BFB2-00EB20ED3CB4.jpeg
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2018
  7. Davea Lux

    Davea Lux Old Man with a Hat FCBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    5,286
    Likes Received:
    1378
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Location:
    Cornelius Or
    It looks like there is some clean copper wire behind the connector, you can try grounding it there to see if anything happens. Connector is nasty, you may have to replace it.

    Dave
     
  8. Shorty65

    Shorty65 New Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    Location:
    Dry ridge ky
    Do autozone or car parts stores carry that connector hate to have to order a .50 cent connector lol
     
  9. ImpJay

    ImpJay The different young FCBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,413
    Likes Received:
    1305
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    Location:
    Vantaa, Finland
    That foil looks weird. :poke: