Getting one lousy part machined.

I've been doing this stuff since 1985. Have questions?
What's your address?
rofl.gif

I just finished my certificate for welding but I took a few manual machining classes as well, working my way up to a CNC cert. But I hate CNC its just so boring and... soulless

I just finished my certificate for welding but I took a few manual machining classes as well, working my way up to a CNC cert. But I hate CNC its just so boring and... soulless

I'm glad I got out of the business before the CNC became so engrained into machine shops.

I got into a argument on a forum once about how to make a simple underdrive pulley... One "expert" said it couldn't be done without CAD and a CNC machining center.

The knowledge is going away as the skilled tradesman is now gray haired and looking to retire.

Anything that can be done by CNC machine can be done by hand on a 1950's Bridgeport lathe and milling machine.

Another trade lost: DRAFTING.
HTF can anybody learn CAD properly if they never learned drafting.

Anything that can be done by CNC machine can be done by hand on a 1950's Bridgeport lathe and milling machine.

Yeah, but we sure can TEXT.

Hell Stan, I still can't post pix and please don't try to help me, it's hopeless. And the only pic I'd post anyway iz the Batwagon doin' ah fire breathin' smoke billowin' comin' atcha burn out.

I

[video=youtube_share;knuz38oT2kc]http://youtu.be/knuz38oT2kc[/video]

hexapods are getting better..

It's hard to do 6 axis on bridgeports.

Last edited:
now that is BADASS!!!!!!

Even with cad/cam your looking at hours of programming and machine time for that part,but still is impressive to say the least. Looks like an inserted ball mill they used for roughing. I'll need to look into that.