Let’s Compare: Dynomax VS Magnaflow mufflers

Isaiah Estrada

FCBO Gold Member
Reaction score
I’ve been slacking on the 68, but I got wind that The Ventura Nationals is quickly coming up come September. This is a great goal for me to have the car put together and DRIVING by then.

Currently it runs, and it runs pretty darn good if I should say so myself

We’ve clamped on / rigged some flex pipe pointing outside the garage just to direct the fumes outside so we don’t get gassed out. Otherwise, she’s pretty much straight piped!

Right now, I’m crossed between Dynomax Super Turbo mufflers and Magnaflow mufflers for what I’ll end up running. I’m not looking for something extremely loud. However, this car has a 440 and I want to be able to hear it! Scale of 1-10 I’m looking for a 5 to 6.

Does anyone have clips of a big block Mopar powered car with Dynomax Super Turbos or Magnaflows?

C0BC31CC-2395-4C41-9944-B00B76785CCA.jpeg

I sell mufflers and exhaust for a living. The noise level and sound has everything to do with the dimensions of the case and how the muffler is made. The two mufflers you're stuck on are constructed completely different inside. Turbos are generally made up of three perforated tubes with two bridges to hold them in place. I've been told, but have no way to confirm it, that they were first used on Turbo Corvairs. Hence the name. Magnaflow mufflers are basically a big glasspack, for lack of a better term. Again a perforated tube surrounded with fiber glass, made of stainless steel. Each has a very specific sound. The longer the body the lower the tone. The shorter the louder, naturally. Both mufflers are reversible in construction too. The big issue with a Magnaflow or really any performance muffler is drone. If it doesn't quite the sound down enough, the sound just bounces around in the pipes under the car and drives the occupants crazy at steady speeds. Resonators reduce this greatly. I mention it because there's about 7-9 feet of pipe between the m