1970 Newport wiring screwed up

Newport_70

Reaction score
My new "challenge" is to fix the wiring of a 70' Newport which has been screwed up by "experts" years ago. She doesn't run since then.
Had a first look under hood and dash which was kinda bad surprise. Quite some wires simply cut, sticking out the harness, some wires added all over the place, no name electronic ignition, electronic alt regulator wired in using AWG 18... and so on. This will need some time but she's worth it to spend the effort.
I did fix quite some old cars' wiring and made new harnesses from scratch, so I have some background, but ZERO on Mopars.
What I usually do as the baseline is to understand the wiring scheme. Many cars / brands have specific "things", be it typical failures or weak points.

So my first question for you guys is, what is the correct wiring diagram for the 1970 Newport ?

On MyMopar I did find an archive with 70s wiring diagrams, however there is no specific for a 70' Newport. The closest might be "Chrysler A" or "Chrysler B", but I am hesitating to start w/o being sure to work on the correct one. I am used to the fact some european cars have different wiring schemes, sometimes significantly changed three times a year - for the very same car. So that is why I am hesitating...
I have the Electrical assembly manual already (which doesn't help a lot at first) and I don't mind if I have to pay for the correct wiring diagram btw.

Txs for any advice

Last edited:
While you're doing this, would be a great time to include the "Ammeter Bypass" upgrade in the mix, too. Several good threads in here on how to do that simple procedure.

Keep us posted on your progress,
CBODY67

For sure I'll do this.
Did read through some posts already the only bigger effort seems to remove the entire dash/console.

If there are any other must do's, or strongly recommended ones, please let me know

Will keep you posted