Experience Coker Repro Wheels

Marv

FCBO Gold Member
Reaction score
When I got my car it had some aftermarket Cragars on it which I replaced with steel wheels to use original wheelcovers.
Those steel wheels have been balanced in my local tire shop but the owner was kind of devastated when he told me he did
the best he could but it´s still not that good. Indeed I have a heavy imbalance between 55 and 70 mph which causes massive
vibrations so I´m looking for replacement.

Does anyone has experience with the repro wheels by Coker? Steel Wheels | Coker Tire®
Are they good quality or is it cheap China trash ?
Do wheelcovers have a good hold ? I heard that dog dishes don´t always work, I uses full wheelcovers.

Just curious as to what kind of balancer he has? Reason I inquire is that every computerized balancer I've seen will pinpoint any out-of-round and/or lateral run-out of the wheel itself, plus the tire, too, when both are together. Not to forget about "road force variation" of the wheel/tire combination. Taking some pictures/videos of the balancing process might assist with any warranty claims, I suspect. As always, documentation is key.

Those basic steel wheels can be purchased from other vendors, too, even Wheel Vintiques, which can be found directly.

Keep us posted on your progress,
CBODY67