1966 Chrysler 300 Resto-mod

C-Body

Reaction score
I am new to the C-Body Forum and I am looking for some advice on resto-moding, an all original, I am the 2nd owner 1966 300 4 dr 383. I found a lot of information and responses to starting restoration projects, but I was not able to find follow-up or conclusions to these. Simply put, I want a 50 year old car, kept discreet, perform and drive like a new car and need to understand how to do it right...and call me crazy but I love this body style and I do not want to do just another Cuda, Superbee, Charger muscle car.

Therefore, please forgive if these questions/concerns have already been answered in the forum, but I need help in the following areas:

• Will 1966 C-Body accept new HEMI/Transmission drive train?
  • Does 1966 C-Body have enough rigidity in the frame to support new HEMI/Transmission drive train / HP torque etc? (I'm thinking 6.1L)
  • Where can I find specifications/dimensions for both 1966 frame and new Chrysler frame?
  • What suspension upgrades will I need to keep stance low but maintain ride quality?
  • What Disc brake packages are out there?
  • ...or should/could I get a wrecked SRT8 300C and take Engine/Trans/Rear end out and drop it in 1966 Chrysler?

I am aware that a project like this can run away quickly with exorbitant costs if I make the wrong decisions and get wrapped into pie in the sky dreams. My ears and attitude are wide open to any responses. So, I look forward to your experience and expert advice.

Thanks in advance

1966 Chrsyler 300.jpg

1966 Chrsyler 300.jpg

Welcome. When it comes to a car as nice as that, a total rebuild of stock components will be far easier, cheaper, more satisfying, and Pro-Tour with the best of them.
Rebuild the front end, steering, and suspension and it will track like a Viper with the right components.
Upgrade the fronts to discs and rebuild the rears.
Rebuild a nice 440 and the TorqueFlite.