1974 New Yorker 2dr.

david hill

FCBO Gold Member
Reaction score
Have decided to begin the restore of my 1974 New Yorker. Bought last summer, was on its way to be crushed. Body is in pretty good condition w/ the exception of some rust through of both front fenders in the exact same spot. Have confirmed the body was undercoated early in its life. Inspection of the front fenders shows no undercoating in both spots pictured. If anyone has fenders w/ no damage in these areas please respond. Would like to score some less desirable fenders and cut out patch panels. Another is the vinyl roof, did inspect at time of purchase and roof metal under damage vinyl is rock solid. Has anyone replaced a padded vinyl roof before. Have installed conventional vinyl tops before. I have never done a padded c body top before. If other members have done this I need your in put. Help w/ where to purchase padding and materials as well as install tips will be most appreciated.

20180206_174924.jpg

20180206_174911.jpg

20180206_174847.jpg

20180206_174835.jpg

I have the exact same car as you, although mine is a 75.. I have the same Top issue as well. I used this guy:

Kevin Tamblyn

Original Auto Interiors

7869 Trumble Rd.

Columbus, Mi 48063

They sell the OE material w/padding you’ll need, they’ll also sew the OE Double stitch seam down the middle for I think it was $245 for mine.. You’ll need 4 yds of material.. it’s best to have a local upholstery shop do the removal and installation of the top IMO.. because the windshield and top moldings need special care when being removed. The headliner will need to come out as well to access the fasteners for the chrome strip over the roof that separates the vinyl and the painted roof.. you need a body shop to do the roof repairs for the rust.. unless your really handy with that type of work. Keep us posted as you progress plz. With pictures of course..