68 Chrysler turn signal switch replacement with Tilt Telescoping Column

Interior

  1. detmatt

    detmatt Old Man with a Hat FCBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    25,793
    Likes Received:
    11737
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    You might have an issue with your headlight switch too. Until I got mine rebuilt I had to jiggle it to get taillights half the time.
     
  2. SPF Required

    SPF Required Active Member

    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    364
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2017
    Location:
    California.
    Thanks @detmatt. I do have an NOS switch coming my way too. I figure if I have to pull the dash apart, might as well pull the column apart as well.

    looks like the turn signal switch from rock auto is the best price at ~$320.
     
  3. Devinism

    Devinism Member FCBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    31
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Location:
    Wagoner, OK
    1968 Chrysler had 2 different H/L switches. I'm sure Chrysler had 2 different vendors and yours could have had either type installed on the assembly line.
    Type 1 (most common) has a body that is all metal upload_2021-5-4_9-0-26.jpeg

    Type2 has the body made from a type of plastic upload_2021-5-4_9-3-31.jpeg

    Type 2 has always been a problem child. I rebuild both types, if needed.

    You first need to see if you are getting power to the terminal on the back labeled B2. That is the power in feed for tail / side marker / park lamps.

    Devin
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
  4. SPF Required

    SPF Required Active Member

    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    364
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2017
    Location:
    California.
    Big Thank you for this Devin. I am pretty sure the Type 1 switch is what is installed. I definitely know the Type 1 is what was just delivered. When I pull the old one I will reconnect with you about doing something with the old switch.

    any other tips and tricks for this project are greatly appreciated.

    Since this thread is garner some great input, any sources for a back-up lamp switch? I notice in the manual it is installed at the lower end of the column. My back up lights have never worked so I figure I might as well replace that while I am at it. I only want to be under that dash once! :)
     
  5. detmatt

    detmatt Old Man with a Hat FCBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    25,793
    Likes Received:
    11737
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Put your headlights on relays, in fact put all your lights on relays and take the load off of the switches themselves.
    I did the headlights on my silver car but I still need to do the rest and I’ll do the same on the Ruby Director.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1