69 fury drum brake question

69mopar man

Reaction score
Hey folks , I’m doing brakes on my 69 fury 3 with drums all the way around and no booster, my problem is I can’t find anyone that works at a auto parts store that knows anything about brakes , I’m a rookie but want to replace my drum brakes with new shoes, adjuster kits , and brake hardware for each drum , I noticed that with the adjuster kit there are 2 different kinds of adjuster cables, one cable with a j hook and one kind with a spring, my car has the hook kind which fell off and I’d like to use the spring adjuster cable , but I can’t find anyone who knows if they will work with a hardware kit for my car? Any help would be much Appreciated

B03BBE9E-E519-45C1-8039-2594B38862BE.png

2DCF2B7A-9581-42E4-86B6-2817982A6C78.png

As long as you use the complete brake adjuster kit, either should work. Type 2 superceded type 1. Replacement shoes have all the needed mount holes.

Dave

The spring type was 1970. Also the lever for the self adjuster is different, it mounts to a pin in the shoe, and has. A return spring on it.

But why do you want to change the type of cable? Seems alot of fuss for nothing.

We’ll again I’m not a Mechanic but looking up the parts on partsgeeks website there’s 38 options with many different brands , but I could find any hardware kits that would work , fitment, with the spring adjuster cable some go by the shoe size and these are 11” drums with 2” shoes in rear and 2 3/4 in front

I called a brake shop told them I had the j hook kind they said that most fell off because the cable gets Stretched and the spring kind was better, I spent the last 2 days calling 100 stores most everyone had no idea what a adjuster kit was or a hardware kit and nobody could answer if they were Compatible , so I guess I’ll go with the j hook because I can’t spend anymore time trying to get a better brake