Holy Roof Rust, Batman!

Another option might be to sweat solder on metal patches from the inside. Then bondo and sand from the outside. Good base and maybe a longer term temporary solution
Good option. Except the Bondo will be subject to moister after the solder job and the fiberglass and resin after the solder job would not.

I've been making a living doing paint and bodywork since 1972. I've repaired a lot of rust especially working in NY for years, but the best rust preventative by far was moving to Arizona and avoiding rust at all cost! At least on my own cars.

One of the problems with vinyl roofs was the lack of maintenance. The vinyl would dry out and become porous. Once that happened there was no hope for the roof. My friend bought a 68 GTO back in 1976. He always used a good dressing on it and 40 years later it is still good. I still think that roof is too far gone to repair. It needs a new shin from a donor car.

you might want to watch weird beard's vids on how he dealt with the rusty roof on a 72 fury.
it turned out alot better than i was expecting

If I was going to use fiberglass, it would be the mat, not cloth. Cloth works nice for wrapping around corners and edges. In your mind, you just add layer after layer and build it up.
In reality, I've found that whatever you are using to lay down the next layer will stick to the layer below and causes it to move around. You get air bubbles and all kinds of flaws.
Sure, you could do 1 layer at a time, curing in between, but who has time for that?
So I would use mat, as it is thicker and won't move around as much. If you wanted to do mat 1 layer at a time, at least you don't need to do as many layers.

BUT -
I think it boils down to how much time you want to spend, how good (or bad) you want it to look, and how often the roof will get wet in the future.
You mentioned small budget and not much experience. Small budget has been my M.O. for most of my life, but experience follows from that.

For the trim: