New to wiring, trying to fix blower motor

jg09

Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm working on trying to figure out why my blower motor isn't getting power. It's getting colder out and I could really use my defroster!

I'm new to dealing with wiring diagrams and use of a test light, but I really want to learn how to work with it. I tested all the fuses in the fuse block with a test light and found that the 30 amp fuse for the blower motor doesn't have power on either side of the fuse. Where should I go from here? What should I test now? I have a wiring diagram for a '76 New Yorker but I'm not too keen on how to read it. Any help/knowledge would be appreciated!

I'm assuming you have a '65 - '68 Chrysler product of sorts. Pull the fusebox by removing the retaining screw, remove the plastic cover, and you will see that the wires to the fuse are burned and/or corroded, creating an open circuit.

That should be the culprit, considering that your test lamp failed to light when grounded to the body with the other lead touching each fuse contact.

I'm sorry, I just noticed that you have a late '70's NYer - the same should apply - but the fuse box is quite different... pull it and check - it's better to use a multimeter too.

First....do you have ATC II or manual A/C.

ATC II has temp readings like 70, 75, 80 on the controls. Manual A/C will have cool and warm on the controls.

Man that sucks. I drove around without a blower or heat for a couple months in the winter time once in my old Imperial.0 Couldn't see a damn thing out the front window most of the time plus froze my *** off when it was real cold. Hope you can get is squared away.

Did you pull the fuses and check for continuity? I've has glass fuses fail up in the silver part that you cannot see...the fuse looked "good" but, in fact, was not.

First....do you have ATC II or manual A/C.

ATC II has temp readings like 70, 75, 80 on the controls. Manual A/C will have cool and warm on the controls.

It's got manual A/C