Oh crap, I just changed my oil with a low-zinc oil, what should I do?

bronze turbine

Reaction score
I bought some Chevron Delo 400 oil on sale. It's for diesels so I thought it would be great for my 1968 Chrysler 300 with a 440 TNT. Now I see that it's a low zinc oil. I'm panicking. I haven't even driven the car on the road yet, just moved it from one garage to another across my yard, but I'm thinking I should change the oil again before I take it on any trips. As an alternative, I could add a zinc supplement to the oil. Any thoughts on this? What is a really good quality zinc supplement I can buy at Autozone?
Thanks!

Last edited:
I would add a bottle of STP Oil Treatment. It will provide the needed zinc, but will also provide lubrication that clings to engine surfaces providing protection from dry startups. This will provoke opposing opinions, but I have been using this in every engine I have owned for over 40 years with great results. Lindsay

I just looked it up and it's 817 PPM.

There are folks that say 800 is OK for old cars with stock cams and I've read that the additives really don't mix well enough to give the protection they claim.

@fury fan has done some research on the subject. Post #10 in this thread. Replacement Aftermarket Camshaft for 383-4 and 440HP engines

Perhaps he can chime in on this.

IMHO, you could just run it and change it early... Or just drain it and use it for your lawn mower etc.

In one respect, as you have a well-used and conditioned cam/lifter set, as 1000ppm is generally considered to be the low spec for zddp, 800 is not that far off. Rislone has a decent zddp additive, but many of the additives are 1qt in size, to replace one quart of motor oil, but some are only 16oz, so that might be something to look for.