Rough idle

crash113

Reaction score
Not sure if I'm in the right forum so I apologize in advance if I'm not. I just bought a 66 plymouth sport fury over the winter and I've finally been able to work on it lately now that the weather is getting warm. It's a hardtop with a 318 automatic with 77k original miles. I just put a refurbished carb on from classic industries and did a complete tuneup except plug wires which are on order and a new coil which I just plain forgot. I just got it running for the first time in quite some time and it starts just fine but it idles incredibly rough but when I get into it a bit it smooths right out. I'm figuring a lot of it has to be that it just needs to be run and get the rings to re-seat. I'm a good mechanic but this is my first classic car and it's twice as old as me so undoubtedly there are some things I wouldn't think to check. Just wanted to get a few opinions on where to start looking. Thanks for any help.

:welcome:....... to the board.......

My first look is at the old wires grounding out, then the carb adjustments BUT I am not the mechanic on the board..

By the way.....we need pictures

you appear to be in the right forum .. welcome and head over to the welcome wagon and introduce yourself and your cruiser.

Thanks guys. I had a bunch of pics but I have a new phone and lost them all. I'll post some tomorrow after work.

Need more data: I'm assuming the original Poly 318 with points? During the tune up were new points/ condenser put in? Finish off the tune up (wires at least...you may not need a coil) and see how it runs then. I'd also go through the fuel system (blow lines, new filter) to ensure that you're not throwing old debris into that fresh carb.