Speedometer cable install

jtalberts

Reaction score
For some reason, the owner of the car I purchased said the speedo didn't work and that he couldn't find the cable on the car. Luckily I had the parts car to take a look at and found that my new car didn't have a cable AT ALL. I went and took the parts car cable and have now installed it. So I have this question. Is it really as simple as just getting the square head of the cable lined up on both sides and tightening it down? Like I said before, this is my first attempt at working on an old car and everything being so mechanical just throws me off. I am a network engineer by trade and everything really being so simple and mechanical just amazes me.

My speedometer is getting very noisy so I suspect the cable is bad. The needle jumps, floats, stalls and everything while making a loud whirring noise. What year was your car jtalberts? I've replaced speedo cables on other cars but I'm afraid to start messing with my 48 year old dash and everything in my 66 Newport. I don't want to break anything!

My speedometer is getting very noisy so I suspect the cable is bad. The needle jumps, floats, stalls and everything while making a loud whirring noise. What year was your car jtalberts? I've replaced speedo cables on other cars but I'm afraid to start messing with my 48 year old dash and everything in my 66 Newport. I don't want to break anything!
He says cable. I say speedometer. Get back to us.

Posted via Topify on Android

If it turns out to be the speedometer be sure to get a factory service manual which will give directions for removal.

Since the score is something like 3 - 0 now your asking for updates for number 1...... I love it.
However I am surprised at you implying replace the speedometer instead of lubricating a cable.

My vote is the speedometer, after 40+ years the lube gums up or dust or who knows what.