Stock exhaust '67 Chrysler??

Scoopy G

Reaction score
Hello gents, My '67 Newport Custom is running great, no issues, EXCEPT, I can't get the exhaust quiet enough.

I am sure that in '67, the exhaust on this car was very quiet. Now here in 2020, with all the blabbering noise going on constantly, I just want my Newport to be quiet. I had a shop put on a couple of mufflers to replace the rusted ones, but it still isn't quiet enough. SO...

What was the stock setup in '67? Mufflers and resonators? What was the pipe size coming off the manifolds? Mine is dual exhaust, but with just a 2-barrell. Is the pipe too big, does it need to be reduced? I'm no exhaust expert as you can see, but I don't want to hear anything but the engine purring at idle. Thanks for any help.

103_0878.JPG

You've got a few things working against you on this issue.

Your two barrel 383 Newport would have left the factory with single exhaust, which is quieter than a dual system. As it looks like you know, the larger the pipe diameter, the louder the exhaust will be. I think the stock pipe diameter would be 2-1/4" to the muffler and 2" out. I don't think it would have had a resonator as original equipment.

Modern mufflers are not as quiet as what would have come on the car originally or what would have been available as a replacement for many years after the car was built. Mufflers designed for cars with catalytic converters don't need to be as effective at reducing noise because the converter itself lowers the sound level quite a bit, and the internals of most modern mufflers are now of this design. As the numbers of non-catalyst cars dwindled, the exhaust manufacturers saved money by phasing out the old design, quieter mufflers.

Adding a crossover between the two pipes will usually reduce the sound level a bit. Adding resonators would also quiet things down, but you may not have enough clearance on the left side to do this.

Jeff