Voltage regulator?

Electrical & Ignition

1. Joekay

Joekay Member

I was told i may need to change voltage regulator. I have just installed my engine after rebuild, and i am using a msd pro billet ready to run distributor. I have a powermaster alternator. I got the car started last night and had smoke coming from the voltage regulator. Also on my alternator it has two male spades and i only have one connector. Bare with me as im electronically dumb. (And so is chryslers charging system) so im wondering what i need to do to make these parts and the car work together? New regulator? Is my alt hooked up wrong?

20181215_181028.jpg

20190109_180928.jpg

2. Mike66Chryslers

Mike66Chryslers Well-Known Member

You should change the electromechanical voltage regulator for an a solid-state electronic one. However, your first problem is that your car has an early-style charging system with a single field wire. The Powermaster alternator is the later "isolated field" style with dual field terminals. From the Powermaster instructions:

Note that the Powermaster alternator is a double field unit that will work with both double field and single field type external regulators. If your vehicle has two small field wires, they should be connected to the FLD terminals on the back of the alternator. These wires are interchangeable, so either wire can be connected to either FLD terminal. If your vehicle has one small field wire, connect it to either FLD terminal on the alternator. Then, usinga short 16 AWG or larger jumper wire, ground the remaining FLD terminal. Some models have a ground stud on the back alternator case; this or any other bare metal grounding point will be sufficient.

http://www.powermastermotorsports.com/094__Chrysler_Alternators.pdf

3. Joekay

Joekay Member