Voltage regulator?

Electrical & Ignition

  1. Joekay

    Joekay Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Location:
    Missouri
    :BangHead: damn see what i get for not reading fully. But wouldnt it be the same thing as its sending the power direct to battery? And are you saying just wire in a inline fuse? What amp?
     
  2. Joekay

    Joekay Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Location:
    Missouri
    Thats just how my racecar is wired battery to starter and my hot power into car from starter to a fuse block. No alt on that car though
     
  3. cbarge

    cbarge Senior Member FCBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    1,918
    Likes Received:
    2224
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Location:
    Kingston Ontario Eh?
    In theory,yes it is the same but not exactly the best location.
    20 or 30 amp inline fuse is fine. Wiring it to the relay was a much easier location for any future repairs.
    Wiring it up to the starter is creating more work than needed,and pain in the ass if the fuse is "down there".
     
  4. Joekay

    Joekay Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Location:
    Missouri
    Yes it certainly was a but of a pain as the headers make it a little tight. But if it will work i will just add an inline fuse into thw wire behind the engine.
     
  5. cbarge

    cbarge Senior Member FCBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    1,918
    Likes Received:
    2224
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Location:
    Kingston Ontario Eh?
    At least at alternator for easy access.
    Damn kids!!
     
  6. Joekay

    Joekay Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Location:
    Missouri
    Car is also in a lift at my inlaws shop so it really wasnt too bad but would kind of suck to go backwards.
     
  7. Joekay

    Joekay Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Location:
    Missouri
    Well i ran the wire in with the factory harness along the firewall so i would rather have a fuse at the firewall than in that section harness. Not hard to get to. If you can reach the starter relay you can reach the firewall.
    Damn old folks!! (Said in humor, unless your really that upset about my wiring)
     
  8. cbarge

    cbarge Senior Member FCBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    1,918
    Likes Received:
    2224
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Location:
    Kingston Ontario Eh?
    :lol:
     
  9. Joekay

    Joekay Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Location:
    Missouri
    Ya, you cant be too hard on me. For a 28 year old ive built quite a few mopars and revamped them from sitting in fields and barns. And now i have roughly 16k into this newyorker. Its not everyones style for sure but its not being hacked together. Ive poured money into this car and kept a lot of originality to it. Just with 550hp 590ftlb a rmvb and a 35spline rear.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. ayilar

    ayilar Senior Member FCBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    818
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for posting the photos of your alternator. One question: did you mean 70-amp or 95-amp? On the PowerMaster website, I see a 70-amp rating for the 7019 here, but in their catalog the lowest rating I see is 95 amps (pp. 102-103) -- same as what I see at PM reseller Summit.

    Did Powermaster change the specs after you bought your 7019? Or, do they sell the 7019 with different power ratings? For example, I see the 7019 sold on eBay with a 50-amp rating. Even if the rating is "only" 75 amps, my understanding is that the max for a '71 Monaco with original wiring would be 60 amps?
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2019
  11. FURYGT

    FURYGT Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,308
    Likes Received:
    965
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Location:
    Middletown, CT
    I would agree that you probably don't want to go much over 60 amps in a '71 Monaco without some wiring upgrades, especially an amp meter bypass.
     
    • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
  12. ayilar

    ayilar Senior Member FCBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    818
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    USA
    @FURYGT, and everyone else, any suggestion as to where to find a 60-amp or lower round back alternator? I have looked far and wide but have not found any -- maybe it's sitting in front of my eyes and I'm missing it?
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2019
  13. FURYGT

    FURYGT Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,308
    Likes Received:
    965
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Location:
    Middletown, CT
    Just use a square back 60 Amp alternator and ground the 2nd field. Alternatively, have yours rebuilt by a reputable re-builder and have the output upgraded.
     
    • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
  14. ayilar

    ayilar Senior Member FCBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    818
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    USA
    Thank you. Option 2 is not an alternative, unfortunately, because my alternator is not the original one and is incorrect for the car. Is there anyone who sells rebuilt round back units that would be good for a '71 Dodge with BB and A/C?
     
  15. Gerald Morris

    Gerald Morris Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    176
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Location:
    Tucson
    You can get 60 amp roundback alternators from Rock Auto, or gamble with the lifetime warranty as I do with VatoZone. Their rebuilt slop lasts a year or so, then the charging terminals get loose or such. (I had this happen twice.) They cheerfully replace the alternators if ANYTHING goes wrong with them, which is their sole merit aside from ubiquity.

    I probably will go w a Powermaster 7018/19 when I get enough fluid $$ and nothing more pressing to do with them, but the cheap 60 amp ones I've been using do well enough for their price.
     
  16. jct

    jct Senior Member FCBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    3,066
    Likes Received:
    1860
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Location:
    indianapolis
    I'm using a the later style square back on my '68 Newport from napa

    RAY 2132024
     
    • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
  17. ayilar

    ayilar Senior Member FCBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    818
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    USA
    Guys -- thanks for the suggestions, keep them coming. What I really want is a round-back design with external regulator and 50 amps max.

    @jct: thank you for the NAPA info. I had found the NAPA alternator offerings for '71 senior Dodges earlier this weekend, but had initially dismissed the possibility of getting one because of the square back design (as the '73 unit that @71Polara383 had on hand was not fitting without mods in Medina). I was therefore thinking of going with a 60-amp round-back unit, but I am now reconsidering following a discussion with @saforwardlook.

    AFAICT, NAPA are the only ones offering a 46-amp choice. The latter is a later-style square back, but if it can be made to fit in Medina then I'd rather have an incorrect look as opposed to overheated wires -- which I understand may be an issue with anything putting out 60+ amps -- both @saforwardlook (8) and @Big_John (3) have suggested sticking with the original amp rating, which was 45 amps for my Monaco as it has A/C.

    PS: Thanks to @commando1 for posting, back in 2012, this link re: the need for wiring upgrades when upsizing the alternator on older MoPars. Thanks also to the others who have shared their recommendations re: alternator specs and the fact that Ma MoPar did not "not over-engineer" the wiring in our cars -- including, and I am sure I am missing many contributors, @Ripinator (1), @BJS racing (2), @traintech55 (3), @jct, @thrashingcows (4), @cbarge (6, 7), ,etc.
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2019
  18. jct

    jct Senior Member FCBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    3,066
    Likes Received:
    1860
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Location:
    indianapolis
    I did the same, but i also upgraded my charging wire to 8 gauge along
     
    • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
  19. Andrew Douglas

    Andrew Douglas New Member FCBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2018
    Location:
    Citrus heights CA
    Hello I’m coming into this conversation late. I had a question along the same lines. I by passed my ammeter and followed the diagram I posted below. I also switched out the single wire Vreg to a 2 wire Vreg and a 100amp powermaster alternator. Everything seems to run fine except when I have the headlights on, all lights seem to be pulsating quickly. They only do it when accelerating. I’m not sure what I messed up, or did I get a bad Vreg out of the box?

    93787D34-2F69-4222-9577-14212A43CE16.png

    8CC0337D-DD64-4272-8FD4-6ED33478F74B.png