65 New Yorker, first project car

drtrubs

Reaction score
I have a 1965 New Yorker that i received as a gift when graduating college. I have had it repainted but now getting to some mechanical issues. I have some experience but it is limited. I need some guidance on how to evaluate the car and start his project. I have recently had it painted and am starting the mechanical restoration.

I am not looking to break the bank nor win any competitions. My goal for this car is to have a reliable restoration I can drive 3-5 hours on the road to a yearly golf trip.

I have the service manual for the car but finding a trustworthy mechanic to help is overwhelming.

Any guidance would be grateful.

Seems like there are several Mopar clubs in that region. You might meet and network with some of those members as to who knows what they are looking at when diagnosing vintage vehicles' issues. There can also be some members in here that are in that general region, too.

Welcome and take care,
CBODY67

Simple stuff first. It doesn't matter how good or bad it runs and drives. But, you have to stop. Youtube is full awash with channels of folks doing brake "rebuilds" before they do anything major. Start there, get your feet wet with that and the rest will follow. FSMs are great but they were written for the mechanic, try to find an old Haynes manual to walk you through. They were written for the Layman. Doing this, you'll soon discover how much has changed in cars since yours was built and really how much hasn't.
Good luck!

I have a 1965 New Yorker that i received as a gift when graduating college. I have had it repainted but now getting to some mechanical issues. I have some experience but it is limited. I need some guidance on how to evaluate the car and start his project. I have recently had it painted and am starting the mechanical restoration.