66 fury III 2 door hardtop needs a front end

jtalberts

Reaction score
Here is a quick intro. I am a total newb to car restoring. I have always wanted a classic car and finally found too good a deal to pass up. A guy selling his 66 Fury III just happened to rear end a truck in my neighborhood. It smashed in everything above the front bumper. It has a brand new 383 with a 30 overbore and a 391 in it.

I need a new front clip for it.

1. 65 and 66 fury III's sheet metal is interchangeable?
2. I have a lead on a 4 door Fury to use for parts. Will the front end of the 4 door fit on the 2 door?
3. Currently it has drum breaks and I would like to move to disc brakes. Has anyone ever done this and what kind of pain is it?
4. The guy that restored the car left the windshield washers unfinished. I want to get those working again.
5. The front hood smashed the windshield. Is glass easy to come by?

Here are the parts I need:
1. Hood
2. Front fenders
3. Grille and headlight bezels
4. Vent cowl
5. 2 headlights
6. Radiator
7. Radiator support

Any gotchas in there that might be a pain to find?

Thanks for the help in advance.

Here is a quick intro. I am a total newb to car restoring. I have always wanted a classic car and finally found too good a deal to pass up. A guy selling his 66 Fury III just happened to rear end a truck in my neighborhood. It smashed in everything above the front bumper. It has a brand new 383 with a 30 overbore and a 391 in it.

I need a new front clip for it.

1. 65 and 66 fury III's sheet metal is interchangeable?
Yes, if you want to change everything and make your car two years in one.

2. I have a lead on a 4 door Fury to use for parts. Will the front end of the 4 door fit on the 2 door?
Yes. Everything will fit just fine.

3. Currently it has drum breaks and I would like to move to disc brakes. Has anyone ever done this and what kind of pain is it?
Very minimal pain. Most likely need to change spindles. Ball joints are likely the same.