Black hood?

REJ

Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to "For C Bodies Only" and while being a classic Chevy expert, I know little to nothing about Mopars other than in high school, convincing my parents to buy a new '64 Dodge 2 dr ht Polara 500 with 330hp 383. My folks couldn't figure out how come the tires lasted only a few thousand miles!

Last week, I bought a '67 Plymouth Sport Fury 2 dr ht (not the fastback). Sort of a barn find. The car has 29,000 miles with a 325 hp 383, 727, and limited slip. Interestingly, the original window price/option sticker has a line item stating a no-cost body accent strip delete.

I bought the car from the decendants of the original owner. The Fury runs and drives perfect. The interior is very good with almost no wear. The exterior is very good with no dents...chrome and stainless is nearly perfect. My question for all of you who are experts on paint is: the car is a darker red metalic (I haven't looked up the paint code yet) and black vinyl top...but, the hood is satin black. I know some performance Plymouths, and I think Dodges, had black hoods. I am suspect that this is not correct for this car. Any insight out there???

The paint on the car shows 46 years of age with some chips and scratches and needs a new paint job. I want to make sure the black hood is an original item.

Thanks for any and all help...

Hi,

I am new to "For C Bodies Only" and while being a classic Chevy expert,Last week, I bought a '67 Plymouth Sport Fury 2 dr ht (not the fastback). Sort of a barn find. The car has 29,000 miles and limited slip.
I bought the car from the decendants of the original owner. The Fury runs and drives perfect. The interior is very good with almost no wear. The exterior is very good with no dents...chrome and stainless is nearly perfect.
My question, the hood is satin black. I know some performance Plymouths, and I think Dodges, had black hoods. I am suspect that this is not correct for this car. Any insight out there???