Add trim removal guy to the list

Zymurgy

Old Man with a Hat
FCBO Gold Member
Reaction score
I am now an expert a removing trim from a 65-66 C-Body. I have a whole new respect for a real auto paint guy. I have painted my vans over the years, first off they have virtually no trim, but what little they had I would just tape off and go. I thought it was a big deal if I spent nearly a day prepping and taping.

I have spent about a total of 8-10 hours removing the trim so far and I might be a quarter of the way done. It has been a lot of trial and error, but so far so good and I haven’t broken any clips. I think I know the approach on most of the trim left to remove because one side is almost all off, so the rest should go a little smoother.

Here is a shot of the set up I used to remove the fender turn signal indicator. I know you can also reach it basically blind from the engine bay, but since I was removing all the trim here is how I did it.
1. Remove bumper turn signal housing.
2. Remove outer bumper section (not as big a deal as I thought).
3. Remove trim leading up to indicator
4. Use tool set-up similar to one show (wobble socket extensions a must) feeding up from the bumper location and yes I will be changing the working light in the indicator, so it will be a long time before I do this again.
Removing the  turn indicator.sm.jpgRemoving the trim.sm.jpg

Removing the  turn indicator.sm.jpg

Removing the trim.sm.jpg

Were you able to save the plastic clips on top of the fenders or have you found new ones somewhere? Last I heard they were impossible to find.

Were you able to save the plastic clips on top of the fenders or have you found new ones somewhere? Last I heard they were impossible to find.