Amp meter bypass for 1967 Imperial

Imperial

  1. MERNJ

    MERNJ New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2020
    Location:
    Westfield NJ
    Re 1967 Imperial: How many of you out there did the Amp meter bypass whereby u run a 12 gauge wire from the alternator to the starter block incorporating the appropriate fuse link.
    Cuts the current running through amp meter dramatically and effects amp gauge needle "norm". My apologies if previously discussed. Any possible suggestions?
     
  2. mrfury68

    mrfury68 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,165
    Likes Received:
    426
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Location:
    Bethel Park PA
    I did this on my Fury. You are not completely bypassing the alternator gauge just cutting the amount of current going through it. You are correct to use a fusible link. I also cleaned the terminals on my bulkhead and replaced some questionable looking terminal ends. This is a vital upgrade for our 50 plus year old cars.
     
  3. detmatt

    detmatt Old Man with a Hat FCBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    25,227
    Likes Received:
    11207
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    I haven’t yet but I need to.
     
  4. polara10x500

    polara10x500 New Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2020
    Location:
    TN
    Go to forums tab click on electrical & ignition, its still on first page, very well done thread with pics. Can't stress enough importance of this electrical upgrade as most do on this forum. Would hate to smoke an fry my dash or completely burn my classic mopar to the ground. FIRE FIRE FIRE,, ops too late should have listen to these guys. Good luck, it's easy and very affordable.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. mopar440

    mopar440 Active Member

    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    137
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2018
    Location:
    St paul
    I have on all my cars, however I used a 40 amp fuse
     
  6. MERNJ

    MERNJ New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2020
    Location:
    Westfield NJ
    Thank you Thank you
     
  7. Luke Pokrajac

    Luke Pokrajac Member

    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    89
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Location:
    Rock Hill, SC (Charlotte Metro)
    Where did you all get the fusible link to do this bypass. I really need to do this on my Fury... Almost bought 10 gauge wire to do it yesterday.
     
  8. polara10x500

    polara10x500 New Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2020
    Location:
    TN
    Lucky the day I went to NAPA and after the salesman telling me thay had no more fuseable links I found on the hangers two 14 gauge fuseable links behind some other shit. Showed them to the salesman and said you should learn your inventory he just grinned like he could give a shit an went right back to his cell phone. You have to take time an look, these people in these auto parts stores are robots. Now if you have a store that you trust and know people that's great but you have be carefull who you buy from these days. I bought both of those links because I can't find them anymore. American made eletricals. Did my bypass surgery on the amp gauge an all is good now. Good luck.
     
  9. polara10x500

    polara10x500 New Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2020
    Location:
    TN
    Sargent Carter say's Move it move it move it! I say DO it! Do it! DO IT!.....
     
  10. CBODY67

    CBODY67 Old Man with a Hat

    Messages:
    5,300
    Likes Received:
    1210
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    We used to stock fusible link wire at our back parts counter. It was on a small roll. Seems like we had two different gauges, to match what GM used in their harnesses. Maybe 10' to a roll?

    CBODY67
     
  11. live4theking

    live4theking Old Man with a Hat

    Messages:
    10,026
    Likes Received:
    2850
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Location:
    Rockland; Venango County Pennsylvania
    I bought a 10' roll from the local parts house to do mine.
     
  12. Richard Reau

    Richard Reau Member

    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    108
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    Location:
    Tampa
    I opened up the dash and took both wires off the ammeter and bolted them together, and then taped the crap out of them. Then, I also pulled a new wire from the alternator, through a 12" piece of fusible link wire ($15 at the auto electric shop), and in to the starter relay. Both of these ideas came from the forum somewhere.....

    I then put a lobe-sensing pertronix kit in my distributor, and using their coil I eliminated the ballast resistor on top of the engine. Come to think of it, when I did the ammeter bypass, I also eliminated the ballast resistor on the firewall near the booster. I'm sure someone is gonna tell me that's wrong, but 1.5 years later, the car runs perfect with no electrical issues or ignition issues or lighting issues or charging issues whatsoever.
     
  13. RagTop66

    RagTop66 Member

    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    108
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I did. Super easy and great insurance against setting your dash on fire.