Dodge 880 questions and performance

Mowerhoarder

Reaction score
Hey! I'm new to this form and pretty new to the car world in general. I bought a 64' dodge 880 station wagon as my first car and daily driver. I was wondering what it even is (c body?) and where to get some better suspension parts/if a disc brake kit from a c body would work. I'm mostly looking for upper and lower control arms and a polyurethane bushing set to make it maybe not handle like a bowl of jello

Welcome aboard!

There was a thread in here, a few months back, about pre-1965 Chrysler Corp "full-size" platforms being part of the C-body family. Chrysler did not christen their full-size cars as "C"s until the 1965 model year, officially. In those prior times, there were the full-size, intermediate, and compact platforms. BTAIM

As to power disc brakes, there are several dynamics here. Most probably the car now has power drum brakes, but the power booster might not be adequate to run power disc brakes (which generally need more pressure to work well). One dynamic. The other dynamic is that without adding some complexity in sourcing components and such, Wilwood might be a better option. I usually like OEM-based conversions, but for some of the older vehicles, they might be the best alternative.

As to making the handling "firmer", polyurethane items might result in more road noise than is currently there. The lower control arm pivot (and front torsion bar mount area) is rubber, which can age and deform as the full weight of the front end rides there. New pivot bushings can be a prime candidate for replacement. No poly there that I know of. Might find some poly bushings for the upper control arm pivot bushings, though?